Promoted Listings Advanced

Grow your business and drive sales with priority access to placements across eBay.

What is Promoted Listings Advanced?

Promoted Listings Advanced is a cost-per-click advertising solution that provides priority access to placements across eBay to help you grow your business and get more sales. With advanced campaign management options like targeting and budgeting controls, sellers have seen 50% more sales when using it to promote their items.*

*Source: eBay data; Sept 2022–Feb 2023; compared to non-promoted items.

Key benefits

1

Powerful results

Get more sales with priority access to placements across eBay.

2

You're in control 

Choose how much each click is worth to you and never pay more than the daily budget you set.

3

Insightful reporting

Easily monitor and update your campaign’s performance in one place on the campaign dashboard.

Getting started

You can create a Promoted Listings Advanced campaign from the advertising dashboard in Seller Hub. To get started:

  1. Go to Seller Hub
  2. Click on the Marketing Tab
  3. Go to your Advertising dashboard 
  4. Click the Create New Campaign button

At this point, you can either choose between Smart or Manual targeting as your campaign setup method.

Smart targeting provides a simpler setup where eBay automatically bids and targets for you. 

Manual targeting offers more control, allowing you to manually create and manage all aspects of your campaign.

Best practices

Widen your reach with more keywords

In manual Promoted Listings Advanced campaigns, include at least 10 to 15 keywords per listing to increase the chances of buyers seeing your listings. Remember to utilize both phrase and broad match types, as well as negative keywords when you’d like to exclude specific terms.

Set your campaign end dates to continuous

Not setting a specific end date for your campaigns can save you time and will ensure that you don’t miss out on increased visibility and potential sales.

Promote items with high inventory

This listing strategy has shown to perform well with Promoted Listings Advanced and can set your campaigns up for long-term success and growth.

Refer to suggested bids and keywords

For manual Promoted Listings Advanced campaigns, look at the suggested bids and keywords provided by eBay to help determine the settings of your campaign and stay competitive. 

Review your campaign reporting

Look at the reporting available to you to help optimize and improve your campaigns. For smart targeting, look at your search query report to enhance targeting of manual Promoted Listings Advanced campaigns.

Organize your listings by subcategory

For manual Promoted Listings Advanced campaigns, split listings into thematic ad groups. This will allow you to target buyers with more focused keywords and improve your visibility.

Ready to apply these best practices?

Performance and reporting

Advertising dashboard

From your advertising dashboard, you can see a quick overview of how your campaigns are performing. Insights include:

  • Account-level summary of the daily performance of your Advanced campaigns
  • Campaign-level summary of the performance data for all of your Advanced campaigns

Campaign dashboard 

From your Campaign dashboard, you can see detailed reporting and make edits quickly. Insights include:

  • Ad group-level summary of the performance data for your campaign
  • Keyword-level summary of the performance data for your campaign
  • Listing-level summary of the performance data for your campaign

To get there, go to your Advertising dashboard, select Promoted Listings Advanced from the Campaign type drop down, and click on the campaign name in the campaign section of the page.

Downloadable reports

You also have the ability to download a .csv file of your performance data to help you further analyze your campaigns. Reports include:

  • Listing report: A listing-level view of the performance of each listing in your campaign
  • Keyword report: A keyword-level view of the performance data for each keyword in your campaign
  • Search query report: A report of all the buyer search queries that led to clicks on your Advanced ads for each campaign
  • Campaign report: A campaign-level view of performance for a selection of your campaigns.

FAQs

Promoted Listings Advanced is a cost-per-click campaign type that lets sellers drive traffic to their listings with preferred access to premium placements using keyword and budget controls.

Promoted Listings Advanced is available to Above Standard or Top Rated sellers with enough account activity.

Promoted Listings Advanced gives you the high visibility you want and the control you need to increase sales on eBay.

Advanced campaigns currently let you bid for premium placements on eBay and provide you with control over your daily budget, keyword selection, and keyword bids.

For sellers looking to gain more insight into performance metrics, Promoted Listings Advanced also provides listing-level, keyword-level, and search query reports to help you monitor your performance.

Sellers can promote fixed price listings for most categories except Wholesale & Job Lots, Cars, Motorcycles & Vehicles, Events Tickets, Property, E-Cigarettes, Vapes & Accs and Everything Else categories. Auction and Auction Buy It Now listings are not eligible at this time.

When you create an Advanced campaign, only listings that are eligible and in stock will appear in your selection view. (Listings that go out of stock while in a campaign will not be removed from your campaign.)

When you create an Advanced campaign, only listings that are eligible will appear in your selection view.

Promoted Listings Advanced is a campaign type that lets you drive traffic to your listings with preferred access to premium placements using keyword and budget controls. Advanced campaigns are based on a cost-per-click model where you choose how much you want to spend per day and how much you’re willing to spend on a click on your ad.

Both Promoted Listings campaign types help your items stand out among billions of listings across the eBay network and be seen by millions of active buyers when they’re browsing and searching for what you’re selling, increasing the likelihood of a sale.

Promoted Listings Standard campaigns let you promote your listings across the eBay network and only pay when you sell. Standard campaigns are quick and simple to set up. Since you only pay when you sell, Standard campaigns are a low-risk way to boost visibility.

Promoted Listings Advanced campaigns let you promote your listings in premium placements and pay per click on your ad. Advanced campaigns give you the high visibility you want and the control you need with a daily budget, keyword targeting, keyword bidding, and reporting.

Advanced campaign ads will show in premium placements across eBay.

No. Each time a buyer searches for a product, we will determine which listings are shown in premium placements using factors like listing quality, keyword relevance, your bid amount, other sellers’ bids, and a reserve price (the minimum amount we've determined a click is worth, taking item quality, competition, seasonality, and marketplace thresholds into consideration).

Follow these best practices to improve item quality and relevancy:

  • Write a clear and concise title with correct spelling and no more than 80 characters.
  • Add an accurate description, using product details from the eBay catalog wherever you can.
  • Use high-quality photos, taken from every angle, and show any flaws or scratches. You can include up to 12 pictures for free.
  • Add item specifics, such as make, model, size, color, and style.

Placement and ranking are influenced by a variety of factors, including your bid, item relevancy, listing quality and a reserve price (the minimum amount we've determined a click is worth, taking item quality, competition, seasonality, and marketplace thresholds into consideration). Just having a high bid doesn't necessarily guarantee you will win premium placement, as eBay has strong quality and relevancy measures in place to ensure a good buyer experience.

It’s important that you also optimize your listings for Best Match to increase the likelihood of performing well in Advanced campaigns.

Your ad will only appear when:

  • A buyer searches for a keyword that you’re bidding on
  • You win the auction for that keyword

Simply bidding on a keyword does not guarantee that your listing will appear. To increase the likelihood that your ad will win the auction, we recommend that you promote quality listings and set competitive keyword bids.

Yes. You can promote the same listings through Standard and Advanced campaigns.

Keep in mind that when you promote your listings through Advanced campaigns, you’re bidding on preferred access to premium placements and paying per click. Standard campaigns have placements across the eBay network and you pay per sale. We recommend that you use both Standard and Advanced campaigns together to maintain coverage.

No. A listing can only appear once in the same set of search results.

Keep in mind that Standard campaigns have placements across the eBay network, not just in search results.

No, the listings will look the same. Both will have a “Sponsored” badge regardless of the ad campaign they are in.

Campaign management FAQs

The daily budget is the maximum amount that you’re willing to spend on a single campaign per day. Some days you may spend less than your daily budget, but you will never be charged more than the amount you choose. Once your campaign has reached its daily budget, your campaign will stop being charged until the next day, when the daily budget resets. Any unused daily budget will not roll over to the next day.

The daily campaign cost is calculated by multiplying the total number of clicks received per keyword by their respective price.

  • Example: Daily budget NOT reached
    • Daily budget is $500.
    • On a given day, Keyword A (average cost per click of $2.50) receives 100 clicks, and Keyword B ( average cost per click of $2.00) receives 50 clicks, which brings the daily campaign cost to $350. The remaining $150 will not roll over to the next day.
  • Example: Daily budget REACHED
    • Daily budget is $500.
    • On a given day, Keyword A (average cost per click of $2.50) receives 100 clicks, and Keyword B (average cost per click of $2.00) receives 125 clicks, which brings the daily campaign cost to $500. Since the daily budget has been reached, your ads will stop serving and your campaign will resume the next day.

Note: Updates to your daily budget are made in real time. If you update your daily budget below what has already been spent, your ads will stop serving and your new daily budget will go into effect the next day.

Updates to your daily budget are made in real time. Listings in a campaign will be eligible to begin surfacing again if you increase the daily budget of an out-of-budget campaign.

Note: If you update your daily budget below what has already been spent, your ads will stop serving and your new daily budget will go into effect the next day.

Yes. There is a $1.00 minimum and a $1,000,000 maximum daily budget.

Ad groups help you build more effective campaigns by organizing your listings to a common goal or category. Grouping together similar listings allows you to target them with the same set of keywords.

  • Note: You can add up to 1,000 listings in each ad group.

For example, you might want to create an ad group containing men’s sneakers that you would like to promote for Father’s Day.

Campaign: Father’s Day

  • Daily budget: $500
    • Ad group: Best selling men’s sneakers
      • Listings:
        • High top sneakers
        • Running shoes
      • Keywords
        • Men’s athletic shoes, high tops, best running shoes, popular men’s sneakers
    • Ad group: Last season’s men’s athletic wear
      • Listings:
        • Joggers
        • Sweatshirts
        • Shirts
      • Keywords:
        • Fleece hooded sweatshirts, athleisure, quick dry t-shirt, high waisted jogger pants
    • This extra level of control helps you better target your listings and increase the likelihood that your campaigns will drive a return on investment (ROI).

Recommended listings are those that have appeared within slots 1 - 200 of the search results page in the past 30 days. Because of their past performance, we think these will perform well in Advanced campaigns.

  • Exact match allows your listing to appear for search terms that match your keywords character-for-character with slight variations like misspellings, capitalization, and abbreviations.
    • For example: 
      • One of your keywords is electric shears
      • Your ad may appear for:
        • electric shear
        • Electric Shears
      • Your ad will not appear for:
        • electric scissors
        • red electric shears
  • Phrase match allows your listings to appear for search terms that include your exact keyword and may include other words before and/or after your keyword. Phrase match is designed to match your ad to search phrases where your keyword retains its original meaning. It will not appear for search phrases that add a word to the middle of your keyword.
    • For example:
      • One of your keywords is yellow socks
      • Your ad may appear for:
        • large yellow socks
        • yellow socks for kids
      • Your ad will not appear for:
        • yellow large socks
        • yellow kids socks
  • Broad match allows your listings to appear for search terms that include your exact keyword terms, even if there are other words before, between, and/or after your keyword. It’s designed to help you reach a wider audience by matching your keywords with buyer search terms that have the same meaning.
    • For example:
      • One of your keywords is “women’s hat”
      • Your ad may appear for:
        • Women’s beanie hat
        • Sun hat women’s
        • Baseball hat for women
      • Your ad won’t appear for:
        • Baseball hat
        • Men’s hat
        • Women’s accessories
  • Negative keywords are terms which are excluded from your ad group. Meaning, when a buyer searches for a term that you’ve added as a negative keyword, your Advanced ads will not be eligible for display. There are two kinds of negative keywords: Negative exact match and negative phrase match.
    • Negative exact match keywords are without variants, meaning that for a keyword to be excluded, it needs to match the buyer's search term character for character.
      • For example:
      • One of your negative exact match keywords is yellow socks. Your ad will only be excluded from buyers using that exact search term.
    • Negative phrase match keywords will exclude your item from appearing for search terms that include your exact keyword and may include other words before and/or after your keyword, but not between. 
      • For example:
      • One of your negative phrase match keywords is yellow socks. Your ad will only be excluded from buyers using that exact search term, plus any search term that includes “yellow socks” with other terms either before or after the keyword, such as “large yellow socks” or “yellow socks womens”.
  • You can use a combined total of 1,000 suggested and custom keywords per ad group. Additionally, you can add up to 1,000 negative keywords per ad group.
    • As a reminder, negative keywords do not accrue charges or count towards your keyword count.

Suggested keywords are search terms that we’ve determined are relevant and likely to perform well in your ad group.

We evaluate keywords based on how frequently they’ve been used in recent searches and how relevant those searches are to the listings in your ad group. These keyword suggestions are designed to help you target buyers who are actively looking for items like yours.

Our suggested bids and bid ranges are based on a number of factors, including selected keyword match type, past performance, competition, and marketplace trends. Using the suggested bids and bid ranges can help take the guesswork out of setting competitive bids.

Suggested bids and bid ranges can change over time, so we suggest monitoring your campaign performance and making any needed changes to remain competitive.

Yes. There is a $0.02 minimum and $100 maximum.

Suggested keywords are available for most listings. These are keywords that we think are relevant and will likely perform well for the listings in your ad group based on past performance.

You can also include your own selection of keywords. When adding your own keywords, keep in mind your item title and the search terms that you think buyers will use to search for your listings.

Monitor your keyword performance by downloading keyword-level reports for each campaign. Remove any low-performing keywords and replace them with new suggested keywords to further optimize your campaign.

We don’t restrict trademarks as keywords. If a listing isn’t relevant for a particular branded query, however, the Promoted Listings Advanced ad for that listing is not likely to show. Our algorithms are designed with proprietary relevance and performance filters in place, which means that ads will only appear if they pass our relevancy filters and will only continue to show if buyers actually engage with them.

If you believe that any content in which you claim trademark ownership has been infringed by anyone using eBay’s services, please notify our VeRO team through the Verified Rights Owner (VeRO) Program and eBay will investigate your notice.

Pausing keywords is an easy way to temporarily remove that keyword from your ad group.

To pause or unpause a keyword, edit an active campaign, select an ad group, and navigate to the “Set your keyword bids” section. From here you can pause or unpause any keyword using the “Active” toggle in the “Status” column.

Your Campaign dashboard lets you see detailed ad group-level, keyword-level, and listing-level reporting and make edits quickly within the context of your performance. Campaign dashboards are currently available for all Advanced campaigns.

To get there, go to your Advertising dashboard, select Promoted Listings Advanced from the Campaign type drop down, and click on the campaign name in the campaign section of the page.

The eBay Marketplace is a dynamic environment. A number of factors can cause an increase or decrease in your campaigns’ visibility, clicks, or sales, including buyer traffic or demand, seasonality, changes to the competitive landscape, general platform changes, and more.

Our reporting and guidance is designed to make it easy for you to optimize your campaigns.

Selecting the right keywords, setting competitive bids on keywords, and improving listing quality may increase the chances of your ads performing well.

Follow these best practices to improve item quality and relevancy:

  • Write a clear and concise title with correct spelling and no more than 80 characters.
  • Add an accurate description, using product details from the eBay catalog wherever you can.
  • Use high-quality photos, taken from every angle, and show any flaws or scratches. You can include up to 12 pictures for free.
  • Add item specifics, such as make, model, size, color, and style.

Using suggested keywords and suggested bids may increase your chances of winning premium placements. We recommend using these suggestions as a starting point.

Create strategic ad groups

  • We recommend building effective ad groups by organizing your listings according to a common goal or category. Grouping together similar listings allows you to target them with the same set of keywords.

Use suggested keywords

  • Suggested keywords are search terms that we’ve determined are relevant and likely to perform well in your campaign. We evaluate keywords based on how frequently they’ve been used in recent searches and how relevant those searches are to the listings in your ad group. These keyword suggestions are designed to help you target buyers who are actively looking for items like yours. For best results, add at least 10 keywords per unique product type in each ad group.

Bid competitively

  • To help optimize campaigns, we provide you with suggested bids and bid ranges for all suggested keywords. Because Advanced campaigns are based on a cost-per-click model, you get to choose how much each click is worth to you.
  • Our suggested bids and bid ranges are based on a number of factors, including past performance and marketplace trends. Using the suggested bids and bid ranges can help take the guesswork out of setting competitive bids.

Continue to optimize your campaigns

  • Keep an eye on your campaign performance to ensure your ad groups remain effective. Suggested keywords and bids can change over time, so we suggest monitoring your campaign performance and making any needed changes to remain competitive.

Reporting and billing FAQs

No. You will only be charged when your ad is clicked. Any unused daily budget will not roll over to the next day.

For example, if your daily budget is $100, your average cost per click is $1, and your ad is clicked 40 times in one day, you will be charged $40 for that day. The next day, your daily budget will still be $100, since unused daily budget will not roll over.

Sales will be attributed within a 30-day window of a click on your ad.

You choose how much you want to spend by setting a maximum daily budget, selecting keywords, and setting a bid for each keyword.

You will be charged for all valid clicks on your Advanced ads. The cost for each click is based on a second-price auction, which means the fee charged will be determined by factors like listing quality, keyword relevance, your bid amount, other sellers’ bids, and a reserve price (the minimum amount we’ve determined a click is worth, taking item quality, competition, seasonality, and marketplace thresholds into consideration).

  • For example, if Seller A had the highest bid at $3.00 and Seller B had the second-highest bid at $1.50, and both items are of equal quality, Seller A wins the auction. The amount that Seller A will pay per click will be between $1.50 and $3.00, but will never be more than $3.00.

We combine all clicks a seller receives on a Promoted Listings Advanced ad in a given campaign on a daily basis and sellers are generally charged for these clicks up to 72 hours after the clicks take place.

Your charges are reported at a listing level. From your Payments tab, you’ll see the campaign ID, click date, total number of clicks, and average cost-per-click per listing.

All Advanced ad fees are charged at a listing level. Charges are determined by the sum of all CPC clicks a single listing receives within a day.

Promoted Listings Advanced traffic is screened by our proprietary detection software, which is designed to help filter invalid traffic in real time.

Suspicious traffic that is reported by sellers or partners is eligible for manual review by our team of traffic experts.

In the event manual review detects invalid traffic, a credit will be processed within 1 - 4 weeks.

Note: Campaign reports can take up to 72 hours to reconcile.

Potentially yes, unless our click filtering systems detect suspicious activity. In some cases, buyers may revisit the same item multiple times before completing their purchase. However, please note that we have proprietary detection software in place designed to filter out invalid clicks with abnormal patterns, including bots, malicious clicks, or accidental clicks. If clicks on the ad are identified as invalid, the clicks will not be charged.

Yes. Each valid click on your Advanced ad will be charged.

We have a proprietary detection software in place designed to filter out invalid clicks with abnormal patterns, including bots, malicious clicks, or accidental clicks. If clicks on the ad are identified as invalid, the clicks will not be charged.

If a click has not been identified as invalid for any of the reasons listed above, it is considered a valid click and will be charged.

Campaign name, Status, Start and End date, and listings are updated in real time, as those events are happening.

Performance metrics are reported in near-real time and may take up to 72 hours to reconcile.

You can download your reports for your Promoted Listings Advanced campaigns from the Marketing and Reports tabs in Seller Hub.

Downloading reports from the Marketing tab is best when you would like to download summary reports for a single campaign over a set period of time.

Downloading reports from the Reports tab is best when you want to schedule or download reports at the account level, for multiple campaigns at once, or view daily performance.

To download reports from the Marketing tab:

  • Navigate to the advertising dashboard
  • Select “Promoted Listings Advanced” from the “Campaign type” dropdown menu
  • Scroll down to the campaigns section and identify the campaign you would like to download a report for
  • Expand the menu next to “Edit” and select the type of report you would like to generate

To download reports from the Reports tab:

  • Click on “Download” 
  • Click on “Download report”
  • Selecting the following report parameters:
    • Source → Marketing
    • Campaign type → Promoted Listings Advanced
    • Type → Keyword, Listing, Campaign, or Search query

To schedule reports from the Reports tab:

  • Click on “Schedule” 
  • Click on “Schedule report”
  • Create a download schedule by selecting the following report parameters:
    • Source → Marketing
    • Campaign type → Promoted Listings Advanced
    • Type → Keyword, Listing, Campaign, or Search query
    • Frequency → Daily, Weekly, or Monthly

You will be able to download search query, keyword-level and listing-level reports for each of your Advanced campaigns.

You can also navigate to your Advertising dashboard to view campaign-level performance.

After launching your campaign, allow up to 72 hours for some reporting metrics to appear in downloaded reports.

Performance metrics are reported in near-real time and may take up to 72 hours to reconcile.

The keyword report currently doesn’t show any performance data for keywords that haven’t received any impressions. This means that a keyword will not be listed in your keyword report if it has received 0 impressions.

For detailed metrics on how your campaigns are performing, go to your Advertising dashboard.

From here you can monitor:

  • Impressions: The number of times your promoted listings have appeared across the eBay network.
  • Clicks: The number of times your ads were clicked.
  • Sold: The number of promoted items purchased within 30 days of a click on your Advanced ads.
  • Ad fees: The total amount of fees incurred by clicks on your Advanced ads.
  • Sales: The amount of total sales generated by promoted items sold within 30 days of a click on your Advanced ads. Total sale amount includes your item price, shipping, taxes, and any other applicable fees.
  • CTR (Click-through rate): Clicks divided by Impressions. The CTR is the percentage of times buyers saw your ad and clicked on it.
  • Sales conversion rate: Sold divided by Clicks. The sales conversion rate is the percentage of listings in Advanced campaigns that are purchased after the buyer has clicked on them.

Charges will be based on the campaign type the listing was participating in at the time of the click. You will always be charged for valid clicks on Advanced ads, but you will only be charged for attributed sales for Standard ads.

  • For example, Item A participates in both Advanced and Standard campaigns. It has an average CPC of $0.25 in the Advanced campaign and a 7% ad rate in the Standard campaign.
  • Item A is displayed via an Advanced ad and there are 5 clicks, which incurs $1.25 in fees through Promoted Listings Advanced.
  • The next day, Item A appears in a Promoted Listings Standard placement on a listing page. A buyer clicks the Standard ad and buys Item A for $100 within 30 days, so Item A accrues a $7.00 ad fee via Promoted Listings Standard.
  • In total Item A accrued a total of $8.25 in ad fees via both campaigns.
    • Note: Advanced ads will incur a charge each time they are clicked, regardless of the attributed sale.

You can see which listings sold through each campaign by looking at the reports for your Advanced and Standard campaigns.

We use a last click attribution model, meaning that the sale will be attributed to the click closest to the sale.

Last click attribution is the industry standard and will ensure that a sale is only attributed once across Promoted Listings campaign types.

  • For example, if a listing is promoted in both a Standard and an Advanced campaign, a buyer may click on the Advanced ad and the Standard ad before purchasing the item. Once purchased, the sale will be attributed to whichever ad was last clicked before the buyer made the purchase.
  • Note: Advanced ads will always be charged for a click, regardless of an attributed sale. Standard ads will only be charged for an attributed sale.

The fees that a listing incurs while participating in Advanced campaigns will appear as “Ad Fee Advanced” in your Payments tab.

Campaign details and reporting will be in the time zone for the site your campaigns were created in.

The U.S. site aligns to the Pacific time zone.

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